Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Journal Honor Roll

Hockey Recipients

1929 - Dona Maynard, St. Raphael

1933 - Francis Fitzpatrick, La Salle

1936 - Kenneth Wood, Hope

1940 - Charles Bentley, East Providence

1941 - George Pulliam, Cranston

1945 - Donald Rawson, Burrillville

1946 - Howard McGuinness, La Salle

1947 - Donald Zanfagna, Mount Pleasant

1951 - William Schifino, East Providence

1953 - Roland Rabitor, Burrillville

1959 - Howard LaPorte, Burrillville

1966 - Curt Bennett, Cranston East

1970 - John Harwood, Mount St. Charles

1974 - David Harrington, Cranston East

1977 - James Murphy, La Salle

1981 - Timothy Army, East Providence

1982 - Chris Terreri, Pilgrim

1985 - Gordie Ernst, Cranston East

John Harwood, All-Stater three straight seasons in hockey and star in baseball, was the 1970 Journal Honor Roll Boy. Tim Army of East Providence and and Pilgrim's Chris Terreri would follow before competing at Providence College and professional hockey careers.

*Journal Honor Roll Girl started in 1977

In 1927 the Providence Journal announced the institution of an Honor Roll established to provide an added incentive to schoolboy athletes of Rhode Island in future years to not only play their games fairly and whole-heartedly but to put their best effort in their academic work as well. Several interscholastic League hockey players were so honored since the award's inception. The first hockey player honored was Dona Maynard of St. Raphael in 1929. All-State pucksters; Charles Caley of East Providence and James McCaffrey of Classical, were nominated as well that year. Classical's hockey captain Francis Fitzpatrick was the recipient in 1933 with Tom Eccleston of Hope being nominated and Joe Cavanaugh of Classical gaining a nomination in 1934. The first successful iceman to be so honored was George Pulliam of Cranston, who went on to stardom at Dartmouth and the 1948 AAU hockey team.

Burrillville's Donald Rawson was the 1945 winner before he continued his hockey at Brown University. Arguably the most impressive recipient was Roland "Red" Rabitor in 1953. Rabitor accumulated an incredible 11 letters and eight All-State selections (baseball, football and hockey) before playing at St. Lawrence and Providence College. In 1959 Howie Laporte of Burrillville was the Honor Roll Boy before heading to Providence College to continue his hockey career. Cranston East's Curt Bennett in 1966 was solid in the classroom, as well as the ice and tennis court, receiving honors before moving on to Brown and the NHL.