Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Roger Wiliams College

Roger Williams Junior College began their hockey program in 1966-67 playing an informal schedule under Coach John Davis. The following season (now Roger Williams College) joined the New England Junior Hockey League played at the Boston Arena and finished in third place in both the regular season (8-2-1) and playoffs. Bob Reall took over as head coach in 1968-69 leading the team to a 15-4 record. The next season they joined the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) facing other New England teams. Paul Driscoll (La Salle) led the Netops in scoring in 1969-70. Fred Soares took over coaching duties in 1972-73 after Reall left for Bryant College. Coach Soares resigned after one season leading the way for Ray Maker to lead the Hawks for the next three seasons. Maker was helped by the fine performance of winger Bob Pendergast (Pilgrim) on the ice.

Former Hope goaltender, Dick Reniere, succeeded Maker in 1976-77 finishing with a 5-11-1 record. Former Brown defensemen, Alan Soares, took over for Reniere in 1979-80 through 1985-86. Soares helped improve the team immediately as the Hawks (18-2-1) won the 1981-82 NAIA New England College Hockey Conference Championship by beating Gordon College on an overtime goal by Dave Curtin (La Salle). They returned to the finals the next season losing a heartbreaker to Hawthorne College 5-4.

They got revenge when they won their second NAIA NECHC title in 1983-84 beating Hawthorne College 4-0. In the National NAIA Championships that season at Wisconsin-Eau Claire they lost 10-5 to the host team Wisconsin-Eau Claire and were upended 5-1 to Wisconsin-Superior 4-3 ending a memorable year. They moved to NCAA Division III in the ECAC in 1984-85.

Former pro player Ed Lee (MSC) replaced Allan Soares in 1986-87 for one season making the ECAC playoffs with a 8-7-1 record. John Bessette (Burrillville) was a record breaking scorer. In 1992 the school was officially named Roger Williams University. Don Armstrong (La Salle) would handle the team from 1987-88 until the 1996-97 season. The Hawks would make the ECAC playoffs in 1987-88, 1989-90 and 1990-91. In the 1995-96 season forward David Curtis (MSC) led all of Division III hockey in goals per game (29 goals in 21 games). Sadly the RWU Athletic Department announced they would be ending the hockey program before the 1997-98 season began due to financial reasons. Kevin Matson took over the coaching duties in the final season finishing 2-14-0 in ECAC play.