Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Sandager Club

In 1938-39 Club Marquette redeemed themselves by sweeping the Sandagers 6-1 and 5-2 (before 2500 people at the Auditorium) to win the championship. The rivalry continued in the 1939 NEAAU championships. The Sandagers shutout Peabody 12-0 in the opening round and overwhelmed Barre, VT 10-1 in the quarter-finals. In the semi-finals, Ralph Erickson and Fred Brogden gave the Sandagers a 2-0 lead before losing a thrilling double-overtime game 4-2 to their rivals.

Sandager Club of Cranston, RI played in the Inter-City Amateur Hockey League for three seasons. Jimmy O'Roarke was manager. They swept the Greenville Townies to win the American Division and state championship in 1936-37 by scores of 2-1 and 4-2 (two overtime goals by Bain and Dorcus). The Sandagers defended their title the next season against Club Marquette. Game one ended in a tie and they traded 5-2 scores in game two and three. However, in the deciding game, Club Marquette threw away its chances of winning the title. Chairman of the league, Arthur Zeller said, "Club Marquette forfeited any right to the Inter-City Amateur Hockey Championship by using in its lineup Eugene Desrosiers who was ineligible for league competition. The Sandagers are declared champions."